Global impact fund

SINN Power and Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund AG complete financing round of EUR 4.7 million

Zurich, 16 April 2018

The German startup SINN Power, global technology leader in wave energy, and the Swiss Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund AG, represented by Umut Ertan, have committed themselves to a common future. With a capital contribution of EUR 4.7 million, Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund enables SINN Power to develop its revolutionary wave energy technology to market maturity in 2022. To do so, SINN Power will implement wave energy converter projects to illustrate the potential for cost-savings and CO2 reductions to customers on coasts around the world.

Umut Ertan, a visionary of the logistics industry, has previously proven his entrepreneurial skills and instincts for lucrative business models. With the founding of the Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund, he dedicates himself to investments with a sustainable approach. The investment in the wave energy Startup SINN Power constitutes the foundation for Ertan’s future commitment to sustainability.

Quote, Umut Ertan:

“SINN Power has a clear goal, a passion for innovation, and a highly motivated and talented team. Based on this combination, we are convinced that our investment will enable the wave energy converter to reach market maturity.”

Quote, Philipp Sinn:

“With Umut Ertan, today we won a new partner who is sharing a clear vision with us: moving forward courageous and visionary, to demonstrate the compatibility of ecology and economy in practice. As a valuable complement to our existing network of investors, the German government and our team, Umut takes us a big step closer towards this goal.”

About Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund AG:

Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund was initiated in 2018 by entrepreneur Umut Ertan with the aim to support startups with sustainability-related and scalable business models through impact investing. Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund supports companies from its Zurich office using various needs-based financing instruments from venture capital to private equity. In addition to environmental technology, illustrated by the flagship investment SINN Power, the Fund focuses on the sectors logistics/real estate, mobility/automotive, health/food and fintech. Its long-term goal is to become one of the leading European impact investors with an international perspective.

About SINN Power:

The German company with headquarters in Gauting near Munich was founded in 2014 with the aim of harnessing the completely untapped, but tremendous potential of renewable energies from ocean waves. With the support of the German government and private investors, the startup successfully tested a prototype of its patented wave energy converter in the Mediterranean Sea in 2015. With demonstration projects starting in 2018, the technology leader will showcase an alternative to diesel generators on remote coasts and plans to establish wave power as an integral part of a worldwide renewable energy system.

Global impact fund

SINN Power et Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund AG concluent un accord financier de plus de 4,7 millions d’euro

Zurich, le 16 avril 2018

La start-up bavaroise SINN Power, leader technologique de la production d’électricité à partir de l’énergie des vagues, et Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund AG, représentée par Umut Ertan, ont trouvé un accord pour un avenir commun. Avec «Schweizer Kapital» et son apport de capital de 4,7 millions d’euro, SINN Power dispose désormais des ressources nécessaires pour développer sa technologie révolutionnaire qui doit être introduite sur le marché d’ici à 2022.

Par le passé, Umut Ertan, visionnaire de la branche de la logistique, a déjà fait preuve d’une grande perspicacité entrepreneuriale pour des secteurs commerciaux lucratifs. Avec la fondation récente de Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund Investments, il s’engage au nom du développement durable. L’investissement dans la start-up spécialisée en installations houlomotrices est la pierre angulaire de l’engagement futur d’Umut Ertan dans le domaine du développement durable et de la technologie environnementale.

Citation d’Umut Ertan:

«SINN Power poursuit un objectif clair avec une véritable passion pour l’innovation et une équipe talentueuse. Dans cette configuration, nous sommes convaincus que l’installation houlomotrice pourra être lancée avec succès sur le marché grâce à notre investissement.»

Citation de Philipp Sinn:

«Avec Umut Ertan, nous avons depuis aujourd’hui un partenaire qui partage avec nous une vision claire: avancer avec courage et un esprit visionnaire pour démontrer qu’économie et écologie peuvent être conciliées dans la pratique. Je tiens également à remercier tout particulièrement nos investisseurs existants ainsi que mes collègues et alliés. En effet, sans leur précieux soutien, notre projet n’aurait jamais vu le jour.»

A propos de Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund AG:

La société Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund a été créée en 2018 par l’entrepreneur Umut Ertan afin de soutenir des modèles commerciaux durables et évolutifs par le biais d’investissements à impact social. Dans ses bureaux situés à Zurich, la société Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund soutient des entreprises en leur proposant différentes solutions de financement adaptées à leurs besoins – du capital risque au capital-investissement. L’accent est mis sur la technologie environnementale, illustrée par l’exemple phare SINN Power, mais aussi sur les branches logistique/immobilier, mobilité/automobile, santé/alimentation et FinTech. Son objectif à long terme est de devenir l’un des principaux investisseurs à impact social au niveau européen, avec un effet à l’échelle internationale.

A propos de SINN Power:

L’entreprise sise à Gauting en Bavière a été fondée en 2014 avec pour objectif d’exploiter le potentiel de l’énergie renouvelable issue des vagues, ignoré jusqu’à ce jour. Grâce au soutien du gouvernement allemand et d’investisseurs privés, l’entreprise a déjà testé avec succès en 2015 un prototype de son installation houlomotrice brevetée en mer Méditerranée. Avec ses premiers projets de démonstration, le leader de cette technologie propose dès 2018 une alternative aux générateurs à diesel le long de côtes éloignées et prévoit d’établir la force houlomotrice comme composante essentielle du système d’énergies renouvelables à l’échelle mondiale.