Global impact fund

SINN Power and Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund AG complete financing round of EUR 4.7 million

Zurich, 16 April 2018

The German startup SINN Power, global technology leader in wave energy, and the Swiss Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund AG, represented by Umut Ertan, have committed themselves to a common future. With a capital contribution of EUR 4.7 million, Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund enables SINN Power to develop its revolutionary wave energy technology to market maturity in 2022. To do so, SINN Power will implement wave energy converter projects to illustrate the potential for cost-savings and CO2 reductions to customers on coasts around the world.

Umut Ertan, a visionary of the logistics industry, has previously proven his entrepreneurial skills and instincts for lucrative business models. With the founding of the Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund, he dedicates himself to investments with a sustainable approach. The investment in the wave energy Startup SINN Power constitutes the foundation for Ertan’s future commitment to sustainability.

Quote, Umut Ertan:

“SINN Power has a clear goal, a passion for innovation, and a highly motivated and talented team. Based on this combination, we are convinced that our investment will enable the wave energy converter to reach market maturity.”

Quote, Philipp Sinn:

“With Umut Ertan, today we won a new partner who is sharing a clear vision with us: moving forward courageous and visionary, to demonstrate the compatibility of ecology and economy in practice. As a valuable complement to our existing network of investors, the German government and our team, Umut takes us a big step closer towards this goal.”

About Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund AG:

Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund was initiated in 2018 by entrepreneur Umut Ertan with the aim to support startups with sustainability-related and scalable business models through impact investing. Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund supports companies from its Zurich office using various needs-based financing instruments from venture capital to private equity. In addition to environmental technology, illustrated by the flagship investment SINN Power, the Fund focuses on the sectors logistics/real estate, mobility/automotive, health/food and fintech. Its long-term goal is to become one of the leading European impact investors with an international perspective.

About SINN Power:

The German company with headquarters in Gauting near Munich was founded in 2014 with the aim of harnessing the completely untapped, but tremendous potential of renewable energies from ocean waves. With the support of the German government and private investors, the startup successfully tested a prototype of its patented wave energy converter in the Mediterranean Sea in 2015. With demonstration projects starting in 2018, the technology leader will showcase an alternative to diesel generators on remote coasts and plans to establish wave power as an integral part of a worldwide renewable energy system.

Global impact fund

Link zum aktuellen Artikel über Sinn Power auf forbes.com

SINN Power und Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund AG schließen Finanzierungsrunde über 4,7 Millionen Euro ab

Zürich, 16. April 2018

Das bayerische Start-Up SINN Power, Technologieführer bei der Stromerzeugung aus Meereswellen, und die Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund AG, vertreten durch Umut Ertan, haben sich auf eine gemeinsame Zukunft verständigt. Durch den Einstieg der „Schweizer Kapital“ als Gesellschafter durch eine Kapitaleinlage von 4,7 Mio. Euro stehen SINN Power die nötigen Ressourcen zur Verfügung, um die revolutionäre Technologie bis 2022 zur Marktreife zu entwickeln.

Umut Ertan, ein Visionär der Logistikbranche, bewies bereits in der Vergangenheit sein unternehmerisches Geschick und Gespür für lukrative Geschäftsfelder. Er hat sich mit dem jüngst von ihm initiierten Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund Investments mit nachhaltigem Anspruch verschrieben. Das Investment in das Wellenkraftwerks-Startup legt den Grundstein für ein zukünftiges Engagement Ertans im Bereich Nachhaltigkeit und Umwelttechnik.

Zitat, Umut Ertan:

„SINN Power hat ein klares Ziel, Innovationsfreude und ein hochmotiviertes, talentiertes Team. In dieser Kombination sind wir davon fest überzeugt, dass das Wellenkraftwerk mit unserem Investment zur Marktreife gebracht wird.“

Zitat, Philipp Sinn:

„Mit Umut Ertan haben wir seit heute einen Partner an Bord, der eine klare Vision mit uns teilt: Mutig und visionär voranzugehen, um die Vereinbarkeit von Ökologie und Ökonomie in der Praxis zu demonstrieren. Des Weiteren gilt mein besonderer Dank den bestehenden Investoren, sowie meinen Kollegen und Mitstreitern, ohne deren Unterstützung unsere Unternehmung nicht denkbar wäre.“

Über die Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund AG:

Der Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund wurde 2018 von dem Unternehmer Umut Ertan initiiert, um Startups mit nachhaltigkeitsbezogenen und skalierbaren Geschäftsmodellen durch Impact Investing zu unterstützen. Aus seinem Zürcher Büro heraus unterstützt der Schweizer Kapital Global Impact Fund Unternehmen durch verschiedene, bedarfsgerechte Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten von Venture Capital bis Private Equity. Der Fokus liegt neben der Umwelttechnik, illustriert durch das Leuchtturmbeispiel SINN Power, auf den Branchen Logistik/Immobilien, Mobilität/Automotive, Health/Food und FinTech. Sein langfristiges Ziel ist es, zu einem der führenden europäischen Impact Investoren mit internationaler Wirkung zu werden.

Über SINN Power:

Das Unternehmen aus dem bayerischen Gauting wurde 2014 mit dem Ziel gegründet, das bislang vollkommen unerschlossene Potential von erneuerbarer Energie aus Meereswellen zu erschließen. Mit Unterstützung der deutschen Bundesregierung und privater Investoren testete das Startup schon 2015 erfolgreich einen Prototyp seines patentierten Wellenkraftwerks im Mittelmeer. Mit ersten Demonstrationsprojekten eröffnet der Technologieführer ab 2018 eine Alternative zu Dieselgeneratoren an entlegenen Küsten und plant, die Wellenkraft als festen Baustein eines weltweiten erneuerbaren Energiesystems zu etablieren.